US Open Trivia – What You Need To Know About This Grand Slam

Share & Comment

  • The US Open started life as the US National Singles Championship for Men in 1881. It was played on grass courts in Newport, Rhode Island, and only open to members of clubs registered with the United States National Lawn Tennis Association.


  • From 1975 – 1977, the US Open was played on clay courts.


  • Jimmy Connors is the only man to have triumphed at the US Open on clay, grass and hard courts.


  • Arthur Ashe Stadium seats over 22,000 spectators and is the largest tennis stadium in the world.


  • In 1970, the US Open was the first Grand Slam to introduce tie-breaks.


  • In 1974, floodlights were installed, allowing night matches to be played for the first time.


  • Bjorn Borg, who never won the US Open, was one of many players who struggled to cope with the notoriously raucous atmosphere in the New York. Boris Becker, the 1989 men’s singles champion, said, “Once you have finished playing your two weeks in New York, you are happy not just that you have won, but that you have survived.”


  • Three American men won the US Championships seven times during the amateur era: William Larned, Richard Sears and Bill Tilden.


  • Ivan Lendl reached eight US Open finals in a row during the 1980s, winning on three occasions.


  • Pete Sampras became the youngest ever men’s singles champion when he won his maiden US Open in 1990, age 19.


  • Tracy Austin is the youngest ever women’s champion: she was just 16 years and eight months old when she triumphed in 1979.


  • In 2006, the US Open became the first of the Grand Slam tournaments to introduce the Hawk-Eye challenge system.


  • In the US Open’s 132-year history, there have been only six years in which an American hasn’t featured in either the men’s or women’s final.


  • Monica Seles and Martina Navratilova contested the 1991 women’s showpiece – their 17-year age gap is the biggest in the history of Grand Slam finalists.


  • The longest ever men’s match at the US Open was Stefan Edberg’s five hour, 26 minute victory over Michael Chang in the 1992 semi-finals. The longest women’s match was Sam Stosur’s three hour, 16 minute triumph over Nadia Petrova in the third round in 2011.


  • The US Open led the way in equality: it awarded the men’s and women’s champions the same prize money in 1973.
You Love Tennis Right...

Join the tennis club for free. Just enter your email below for...

  • Tennis news updates once a week.
  • Special offers on tennis gear.
  • Unsubscribe at any time.
  • We will never share your email.

Leave a Reply