Serena Williams, Maria Sharapova and Petra Kvitova Announced for Wuhan Open

Share & Comment

 Petra Kvitova


World No. 1 Serena Williams is one of the latest entrants at the inaugural Wuhan Open in September. She will join the hometown favourite and world No. 2 Li Na, as well as the current French Open champion Maria Sharapova and the reigning Wimbledon champion Petra Kvitova.

Williams is the only one of the announced entrants to not win a Grand Slam title so far this season, although she will have an opportunity to join that list next month at the US Open. Na picked up her second major title at the Australian Open, while Sharapova won her fifth title at Roland Garros. Kvitova won her second slam and at the same event she won her first back in 2011.

Wuhan is the hometown of Li Na and the 2-time Grand Slam champion is understandably excited to be playing in front of her home fans. In a statement, Li Na commented, “I’m so proud that my city is staging such a prestigious tournament. I’m very excited about being part of such a strong field of players and I can’t wait to play in front of my home crowd.” 

The Wuhan Open takes place September 21 at the Optics Valley International Tennis Center.

You Love Tennis Right...

Join the tennis club for free. Just enter your email below for...

  • Tennis news updates once a week.
  • Special offers on tennis gear.
  • Unsubscribe at any time.
  • We will never share your email.

Leave a Reply