Wimbledon Seeds Released: Djokovic, Nadal, Murray and Federer the Top Four Seeds

Share & Comment

Novak Djokovic Andy Murray Wimbledon


The seeding arrangement for the 2014 Wimbledon Championships has been released, with world No. 2 Novak Djokovic surpassing the top-ranked Rafael Nadal as the top seed at the tournament. The other other two competitors right behind them are Andy Murray, who ended a 77-year drought of British Male Singles champions at the presitigious British Grand Slam event, and 17-time Grand Slam champion Roger Federer, who is the fourth seed.

Stan Wawrinka, this year’s Australian Open champion, has been named the No. 5 seed

Wimbledon, which starts on 23 June, is the only one of the four Grand Slam tournaments not to stick to the world rankings when seeding the men’s event, instead using a formula based on grass court form over the past two years.

Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan, the winners of 15 major titles, are top seeds in the doubles draw.

Men’s singles top 10 seeds

Novak Djokovic (Ser) [1]
Rafael Nadal (Spa) [2]
Andy Murray (GB) [3]
Roger Federer (Swi) [4]
Stan Wawrinka (Swi) [5]
Tomas Berdych (Cze) [6]
David Ferrer (Spa) [7]
Milos Raonic (Can) [8]
John Isner (US) [9]
Kei Nishikori (Jpn) [10]

Women’s singles top 10 seeds

Serena Williams (US) [1]
Li Na (Chn) [2]
Simona Halep (Rom) [3]
Agnieszka Radwanska (Pol) [4]
Maria Sharapova (Rus) [5]
Petra Kvitova (Cze) [6]
Jelena Jankovic (Ser) [7]
Victoria Azarenka (Blr) [8]
Angelique Kerber (Ger) [9]
Dominika Cibulkova (Svk) [10]

2014 Doubles Seeds
[1] Bob Bryan (USA) / Mike Bryan (USA)
[2] Alexander Peya (AUT) / Bruno Soares (BRA)
[3] Daniel Nestor (CAN) / Nenad Zimonjic (SRB)
[4] Julien Benneteau (FRA) / Edouard Roger-Vasselin (FRA)
[5] Leander Paes (IND) / Radek Stepanek (CZE)
[6] Marcel Granollers (ESP) / Marc Lopez (ESP)
[7] Lukasz Kubot (POL) / Robert Lindstedt (SWE)
[8] Rohan Bopanna (IND) / Aisam-Ul-Haq Qureshi (PAK)
[9] Julian Knowle (AUT) / Marcelo Melo (BRA)
[10] Treat Huey (PHI) / Dominic Inglot (GBR)
[11] Jean-Julien Rojer (NED) / Horia Tecau (ROU)
[12] Michael Llodra (FRA) / Nicolas Mahut (FRA)
[13] Eric Butorac (USA) / Raven Klaasen (RSA)
[14] Jamie Murray (GBR) / John Peers (AUS)
[15] Juan Sebastian Cabal (COL) / Marcin Matkowski (POL)
[16] Pablo Cuevas (URU) / David Marrero (ESP)

The full list of seedings can be found on Wimbledon’s official website.

You Love Tennis Right...

Join the Stevegtennis.com tennis club for free. Just enter your email below for...

  • Tennis news updates once a week.
  • Special offers on tennis gear.
  • Unsubscribe at any time.
  • We will never share your email.

Leave a Reply