Maria Sharapova beats Wozniacki and is 2013 Indian Wells champion

Share & Comment

It took 2nd seeded Russian Maria Sharapova just one hour and twenty one minutes to claim game, set and match – and lift the winner’s trophy at the BNP Paribas Open in Indian Wells on Sunday. This is the Russian’s first title of the 2013 season and it with she has taken the second spot on the WTA rankings list, bumping Victoria Azarenka into third place.

She handily defeated the 8th seeded Dane Caroline Wozniacki 6-2 6-2 in an awesome display of aggressive power tennis which left her opponent without any answers to the thumping winners she hit from the very beginning of the match when she broke the Dane to love. In fact, Wozniacki only hit two winners in the entire match. Sharapova was on fire and even her serve worked well all through the encounter. The only stat which was on the plus side for Wozniacki was that she hit four less unforced errors than Sharapova.

It was a good tournament for Russia, as the doubles title was won by the country’s pairing of Elena Vesnina and Ekaterina Makarova, the 4rd seeds, who defeated Russian Nadia Petrova and Katarina Srebotnik of Slovenia, the 3rd seeds 6-0 5-7 10-6.

You Love Tennis Right...

Join the tennis club for free. Just enter your email below for...

  • Tennis news updates once a week.
  • Special offers on tennis gear.
  • Unsubscribe at any time.
  • We will never share your email.

Leave a Reply