Djokovic beats Murray and wins third Australian Open title in a row

Share & Comment

Novak Djokovic takes his third Melbourne title in a row after defeating Andy Murray in Australian Open 2013 final clash.

Third seed Murray was playing his third Australian Open final at Rod Laver Arena tonight, whilst top-ranked Djokovic was chasing his fourth Melbourne trophy. In the first set the Scotsman escaped a 15-40 deficit on his serve in the sixth game and saved another break point at 3-4, so the thirteenth game was imminent. Murray lost both of the tie-breaks in the semifinal match against Federer, but was dominant in this one. He built a four love lead and added another mini-break to close out the opening set comfortably enough.

The top seed was hanging by a thread in his first service game of the second set, but fought his way back from 0-40, eventually holding serve. Steady serving from both players marked the rest of the set, so another breaker was required to tell the finalists apart. Murray commited a crucial double fault at 2-2, right after being disturbed by a feather landing on the court. He removed the feather successfully, but missed the second serve. Djokovic was not about to let go of the opportunity and ultimately generated a triple set ball. The first one did the trick as Murray’s backhand ended up in the net, with the world no.1 levelling the score at one set all.

Not many points won against the serve in the third set either until the top seed converted the third break point in the eighth game – it was the first break of serve in the final. Nole then prepared a triple set ball and was glad to see Murray’s shot in the following rally fly wide – 2-1 for Djokovic.

Murray was close to breaking the deadlock early in the fourth set, but in the end it was the Serb who grabbed his second break of the night in the follow-up game. He was in a comfort zone after doubling the one break lead, making the result 5-1. The British players held his serve now, but could not stop Djokovic serving the championship out next. Murray hit the ball into the net at 40-30 which meant Nole could begin celebrating his third consecutive Australian Open title and the fourth in total. The final score: 6-7 (2), 7-6 (3), 6-3, 6-2. The Scotsman hit 21 aces in the semifinal, but was unable to go past number seven against Djokovic, all of them scored by the end of the second set. The Serb defended all four break points during the match.

You Love Tennis Right...

Join the tennis club for free. Just enter your email below for...

  • Tennis news updates once a week.
  • Special offers on tennis gear.
  • Unsubscribe at any time.
  • We will never share your email.

Leave a Reply