Djokovic beats Mayer, plays Tsonga in China Open 2012 final

Share & Comment

Novak Djokovic will be hoping to become the second player to win Beijing three times after Michael Chang after defeating Florian Mayer to make the final. The 6-1 6-4 win was fairly comfortable for the most part, Djokovic saving the two break points he faced during the second set.

It took just 21 minutes for the Serb to hand out a breadstick to Mayer with great returning being backed up by his 79% first serve percentage. Just three points were dropped on serve in this set, two of which were in the final game of the set as he served out for a one set lead to 30.

Mayer showed that for a while he could keep up with the former No.1, even having an opportunity for a break lead at 1-0 up in the set. Eventually the German would falter under pressure, being broken to love in the seventh game of the set and that would be enough for Djokovic. He avoided a minor scare by saving break point to consolidate the break and move one game away from the final. Mayer would hold comfortably enough to make Djokovic serve it out and he would do so, taking his second match point to progress.

Djokovic will play Jo-Wilfried Tsonga for the Beijing title. The Frenchman advanced to the final after his semifinal opponent Feliciano Lopez was forced to retire due to a writs injury whilst trailing 6-1 4-1.

You Love Tennis Right...

Join the tennis club for free. Just enter your email below for...

  • Tennis news updates once a week.
  • Special offers on tennis gear.
  • Unsubscribe at any time.
  • We will never share your email.

Leave a Reply