No Surprises as Nadal named Leader of Spain’s Olympic Team

Share & Comment

With an Olympic gold medal already under his belt, it comes as no surprise that World number 2 player Rafael Nadal has been named as the leader for Spain’s Olympic tennis team.

The record setting Spaniard, who is the reigning Olympic men’s singles champion, will also be joined by some of Spain’s brightest tennis stars including David Ferrer – currently ranked sixth in the world – Fernando Verdasco and Nicolas Almagro. Marcel Granollers and Feliciano Lopez have also been named as one of the team’s doubles pairs, with Nadal and Granollers pairing up to form the other.

Over on the women’s team, 2008 doubles silver medallist Anabel Medina has been confirmed, along with Carla Suarez, Maria Jose Martinez, Arantxa Parra and Nuria Llagostera. With the exception of Medina, the 2012 Olympics will be the debut competition for the confirmed players on the women’s team.

The 2012 Olympic tennis competitions will be held on Wimbledon’s grass courts, after the Grand Slam championships have taken place. The matches are due to start on 28th July, with a proposed finals date of either 4th or 5th August depending on schedule.

You Love Tennis Right...

Join the tennis club for free. Just enter your email below for...

  • Tennis news updates once a week.
  • Special offers on tennis gear.
  • Unsubscribe at any time.
  • We will never share your email.

Leave a Reply