Murray, Williams, Bouchard and Others Prepare for IPTL Debut on Friday

Share & Comment

Andy Murray

 

According to the latest press release, the International Premier Tennis League (IPTL), the inaugural international city-based professional tennis league will begin this Friday in Manila, Philippines with matches available for live viewing via TV and on-line pay-per-view in the United States by Integrated Sports Media.

Friday’s matches feature Maria Sharapova, Andy Murray and the host Manila Mavericks taking on Marin Cilic, Genie Bouchard and the UAE Royals while Serena Williams, Tomas Berdych and the Singapore Slammers will play Gael Monfils and Ana Ivanovic and the Indian Aces. Each IPTL match will consist of five sets played by different players that will include men’s singles, women’s singles, men’s doubles, mixed doubles and former champions singles.

“There has been a lot of anticipation and curiosity about the inaugural season of the IPTL and we are thrilled to provide it for American audiences to view via pay-per-view on TV along with access online,” said Integrated Sports Media President Doug Jacobs. “This is an event that no tennis fan is going to want to miss.”

Full IPTL team rosters are as follows:

Manila Mavericks – Maria Sharapova, Andy Murray, Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, Kristen Flipkens, Daniel Nestor, Carlos Moya, Treat Huey

Singapore Slammers – Serena Williams, Andre Agassi, Thomas Berdych, Lleyton Hewitt, Nick Krygios, Daniela Hantuchova, Patrick Rafter, Bruno Soares

Micromax Indian Aces – Roger Federer, Pete Sampras, Gael Monfils, Ana Ivanovic, Sania Mirza, Rohan Bopanna, Fabrice Santoro

UAE Royals – Novak Djokovic, Marin Cilic, Caroline Wozniacki, Goran Ivanisevic, Genie Bouchard, Malek Jaziri, Nenad Zimonjic

The November 28-30 IPTL matches will be played in Manila, Philippines. The December 2-4 matches will be played in Singapore. The December 6-8 matches will be played in New Delhi, India and the December 11-13 matches will be played in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. The full schedule of matches (with US TV times) are as follows:

Dates and times from Manila, Philippines:

November 28th
Aces vs. Slammers (3:00 am ET/12:00 Midnight PT) Mavericks vs. Royals (6:30 am ET/3:00 am PT)

November 29th
Royals v Slammers (3:00 am ET/12:00 Midnight PT) Mavericks vs. Aces (6:30 am ET/3:00 am PT)

November 30th
Royals vs. Aces (3:00 am ET/12:00 Midnight PT) Mavericks vs. Slammers (6:30 am ET/3:00 am PT)

Dates and times from Singapore:

December 2nd
Aces v Royals (3:00 am ET/12:00 Midnight PT) Slammers v Mavericks (6:30 am ET/3:30 am PT)

December 3rd
Mavericks v Royals (3:00 am ET/12:00 Midnight PT) Slammers v Aces (6:30 am ET/3:30 am PT)

December 4th
Mavericks v Aces (3:00 am ET/12:00 Midnight PT) Slammers v Royals (6:30 am ET/3:30 am PT)

Dates and times from India:

December 6th
Royals v Slammers (5:30 am ET/2:30 am PT) Aces v. Mavericks (9:00 am ET/6:00 am PT)

December 7th
Aces v Slammers (5:30 am ET/2:30 am PT)
Mavericks v. Royals (9:00 am ET/6:00 am PT)

December 8th
Mavericks v. Slammers (5:30 am ET/2:30 am PT) Aces v. Royals (9:00 am ET/6:00 am PT)

Dates and times from UAE:

December 11th
Aces v Slammers (7:00 am ET/4:00 am PT)
Royals v Mavericks (10:30 am ET/7:30 am PT)

December 12th
Mavericks v Slammers (7:00 am ET/4:00 am PT) Royals v Aces (10:30 am ET/7:30 am PT)

December 13th
Mavericks v Aces (7:00 am ET/4:00 am PT) Royals v Slammers (10:30 am ET/7:30 am PT)

Each game won in an IPTL team match counts as one point for the team points total and the team that wins the most games overall across the five sets wins the match. The IPTL matches will feature live entertainment, a running shot clock and many more features to ’Break the Code’ of the traditional etiquette of tennis to attract a new audience to the sport across the world. The team with the most accumulated points during the season are declared league champions and are awarded the IPTL Challenge Trophy in Dubai on December 13.

All 24 matches of the highly anticipated inaugural season, that runs through December 13, will be available on both cable and satellite pay-per-view – live and for replay – via iN DEMAND, DirecTV, DISH and Vubiquity and online at www.GFL.TV starting at $9.95 per match and $69.95 for packages.

You Love Tennis Right...

Join the Stevegtennis.com tennis club for free. Just enter your email below for...

  • Tennis news updates once a week.
  • Special offers on tennis gear.
  • Unsubscribe at any time.
  • We will never share your email.

Leave a Reply