David Ferrer Not Fined for Shoving Line Official in Fourth Round Match

Share This...
PinExt David Ferrer Not Fined for Shoving Line Official in Fourth Round Match

David Ferrer3 David Ferrer Not Fined for Shoving Line Official in Fourth Round Match

 

It has been a gruelling Australian Open event for David Ferrer and that was on full display when the frustrated Spaniard pushed a line official out of his way to reach for his towel during his fourth round encounter with Germany’s Florian Mayer. The Spaniard had dropped the opening set in a tiebreak and was clearly frustrated with his performance during the remainder of the match, which he ultimately won in four sets.

While it was initially believed that Ferrer would be reprimanded for his actions on court, it has now been made official that he will not be penalized for his actions.

New York Times reporter Ben Rothenberg revealed the decision on twitter:

 

In the 2014 Grand Slam rule book, it states that  ‘‘players shall not at any time physically abuse any official, opponent, spectator or other person within the precincts of the tournament site. Violation of this section shall subject a player to a fine up to $20,000 for each violation.”

While the rules are clear on the matter, the world No. 3 insists that there was no wrong doing on his part.

”It was nothing,” Ferrer said at the post-match press conference. ”I have the towel there. It was nervous moment, but nothing. I say to him, ‘excuse me’ after that. Nothing special.” Asked if he expected to receive a fine, Ferrer said: ”No, I don’t think so, Why?”

You Love Tennis Right...

Join the Stevegtennis.com tennis club for free. Just enter your email below for...

  • Tennis news updates once a week.
  • Special offers on tennis gear.
  • Unsubscribe at any time.
  • We will never share your email.