Wozniacki Challenges Umpire before Third Round Loss

Share This...
PinExt Wozniacki Challenges Umpire before Third Round Loss

We’re used to this sort of on-court behaviour from some of the less illustrious players at this level, and of course Serena Williams and Andy Roddick, but former women’s world number 1 Caroline Wozniacki launched a spectacular verbal blast at umpire Poncho Ayala during her third round match up against Kaia Kanepi yesterday.

During a rally in which both players were equal at 1-1 in the second set of the Roland Garros match, Wozniacki stopped playing following a backhand from her opponent claiming that it was out. Calling for the chair umpire and circling the ball mark with her racket, the Dane continued to insist the ball was out even after Ayala called the ball mark as in. Refusing to accept his call, Wozniacki launched into a scolding tirade, which although not her first was definitely her most memorable, choice quotes including:

“The ball is clearly out….How can you see this ball as in when the ball is like this out?… If we had Hawk-Eye you’d be so frickin’ embarrassed right now….Have you been to school? Can I ask you? Have you gone to school?”

Despite her rant, it would seem that Wozniacki was indeed right in calling the ball as out when Hawk-Eye was used during televised coverage of the match, which showed the ball as being 6 millimetres out. However organisers at Roland Garros and other clay court tournaments don’t use Hawk-Eye because it is known to be unreliable on that particular surface. The current 9th seed was in her mind right about it, and she even called for the supervisor but the decision still remained the same.

Unfortunately for Wozniacki she wasn’t able to move past the potential error, and eventually lost the match 6-1, 6-7, 6-3. No doubt feeling “robbed” of the match, although like all professionals it would’ve been more beneficial for her to have accepted the decision and gotten her head back in the game underway, Wozniacki told reporters after the match that “When the ball is clearly out, I don’t think there should be anything to argue about…It’s a disgrace that mistakes like this are made.”

You Love Tennis Right...

Join the Stevegtennis.com tennis club for free. Just enter your email below for...

  • Tennis news updates once a week.
  • Special offers on tennis gear.
  • Unsubscribe at any time.
  • We will never share your email.


0 comments