Nalbandian shock disqualification from Queen’s final against Cilic

Share This...
PinExt Nalbandian shock disqualification from Queens final against Cilic

The London crowd witnessed a shock disqualification of David Nalbandian in the AEGON Championships final against Marin Cilic, with a scoreline of 7-6 (3)  3-4 in the Argentine’s favour.

It all happened in the second set when Nalbandian was trailing 4:3 (break down), having won the first set in a tiebreak.

The Argentine showed his frustration after dropping his serve in the 7th game of the second set. He went on to kick an advertising board in front of a line judge, causing him a shin injury, with blood visibly gushing out of his wound.

Fergus Murphy, the chair umpire of today’s encounter, abandoned the match and Nalbandian was  subsequently disqualified from the final, leaving the audience and the players in a bit of a shock. The athmosphere around the center court was reaching a boiling point, with some big boes from the crowd, who were very keen for the final to be finished in a normal way.

Even Cilic couldn’t believe how he got to become the 2012 Queen’s Club champion and found it hard to answer the questions asked by Sue Barker when presented with the trophy.

To the cheers of the crowd, Nalbandian also stood up from his chair and walked over to Barker to be interviewed. The Argentine was very apologetic and regretted his behaviour, saying he made a big mistake.

However, it didn’t change anything on the fact that this year’s Queen’s final ended in a very unfortunate way and will be famous for a long time to come (not for the tennis played).

 




You Love Tennis Right...

Join the Stevegtennis.com tennis club for free. Just enter your email below for...

  • Tennis news updates once a week.
  • Special offers on tennis gear.
  • Unsubscribe at any time.
  • We will never share your email.


0 comments